Happy Canada Day!

Standard
Canadian Fabric

Part of my collection of Canadian fabric.

Many of you know that I am originally from Canada. My husband and I moved to the United States more than 20 years ago. All of our families still live in Ontario, Canada. However both of my children were born in the United States.

If you’re unfamiliar with Canada Day, here’s the scoop. This national holiday celebrates Canada’s birthday in 1867. According to Wikipedia, Canada Day commemorates the joining of the British North American colonies (the current provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario and Quebec) into the kingdom of Canada. (England kept parliamentary control over Canada until the Constitution Act was passed in 1982.)

Several years ago, when my oldest was almost ready to graduate from high school, I finally got around to applying for my kids’ Canadian citizenship. (Just FYI, it was a whole lot faster for me to get American citizenship than to register my children as “Canadian Citizens Born Abroad.”)

As a quilter, I wanted to make my son and daughter each a quilt to acknowledge their Canadian roots. The problem was that no nice fabric was available. Thankfully Northcott has since released three fabric lines called Stonehenge Oh Canada, which I have been collecting each time I visit Canada. (I have not yet purchased anything from Oh Canada III, which has just been released.)

As you can see, I haven’t started making the quilts yet. Frankly I  might just keep buying fabric, because I think it’s really beautiful. Given that it took Canada more than 100 years to become a sovereign nation, I doubt anyone can criticize me if it takes a few more years to make these quilts.

 

Leave a Reply

