My Hex-ceptional Quilt!

Standard

I have a large stash of black and white fabrics and was trying to figure out a way to use them. Since hex quilts are so popular, I thought I’d give it a try. It’s actually pretty easy, as long as you’re not afraid of “Y” seams.

I began with Darlene Zimmerman’s Hexagon template.

Since this was just a test quilt, I traced each hexagon using a fine-tipped Sharpie so I could see the lines. I then used a ruler and, again using a Sharpie, marked the 1/4″ line around all six sides. (Warning: Not recommended for a show quilt!) The next step was to sew rows together. If you picture the hex’s as a stop sign, I sewed the bottom of Stop Sign #1 to the top of Stop Sign #2. On even rows, I pressed the seams towards the top; on odd rows, I pressed the seams toward the bottom.

Now the fun begins as you sew the rows together. I pinned the right sides of the stop sign in Row 1 to the left side of the stop sign in Row 2. I just sewed along the guidelines. When I got to the intersection of blocks, I kept the needle in the “down” position and moved the seam allowance out of the way.  I actually got into the rhythm and it fairly easy to do. These are 5.5″ blocks, so I imagine it’s a little more challenging as the blocks get smaller. Overall, it was an interesting project and certainly one that builds piecing skills.

Hex quilt 3

Leave a Reply

