Chevron Quilt (PS: I Designed It Myself!)

Standard

I have been wanting to make a chevron quilt for quite awhile. I had some black fabric and a great pack of Kaufman fat quarters that were perfect for the project. A bonus was that I didn’t have to purchase any new fabric, which carries on my theme from last week of actually making something from my stash. (Don’t worry, those days are passed. I broke down and ordered some new fabric yesterday.)

This quilt is made of finished 5″ squares. I began by cutting 7″ squares and using them to make half-square triangles. The resulting square was trimmed down to 5.5 inches. Each row consists of a light and dark color that were fairly close together in color. (The second row was VERY close in color … they are slightly different shades but it’s hard to see that from the photo.)

Although I’ve done some original quilts, this is my first time creating a pattern that was somewhat complex. It made me appreciate the challenges faced by pattern designers. My major screw-up was pressing all of the seams toward the dark side, and then having to re-press half of them to the other side.

My other screw-up was forgetting to bring the 7th row back to my sewing room. I sewed the strips together and ended with a row that had a big transition between colors. After some ripping and re-stitching, that problem was also fixed.

At first I was really disappointed in the quilt. I felt like the black portion was very overpowering. However, the more I look at it, the more I like it. I’ve got a great idea for the quilting and will share the final result when it’s done.

Chevron1

Chevron closeup

4 responses »

  1. I just finished a chevron queen size quilt – Kona white with rainbow tropical batiks – 1st row yellow to last row green – for my granddaughter. I got the idea from Missouri Star Quilt Company. I want to quilt it to mimic the chevrons but I don’t think I will have enough room with my 9″ throat on the Janome on my Grace Frame – may just have to meander….. Love your black chevrons. Very striking and I can’t wait to see it quilted. Chevrons are so BIG this year. Good luck.

    • Thank you, Carol. Yes I can see that this would be a challenge to quilt with a small throat and frame. The other option is stitch in the ditch, which would stabilize it and not take away from the design. I’m sure your grand daughter will love whatever you do!

Leave a Reply

