No fabric was purchased for this quilt!

Standard

There’s something really satisfying about making a quilt top entirely from my stash! I had a half yard of this button fabric and wanted to make a quilt with it.  I managed to find some matching red, grey and white solids, but didn’t have much of them either. What I did  have were two rolls of Kona cotton 2.5 inch strips — one set in black and the other in white. I mixed it all together and came up with this quilt top!

I have to say that I love the look of it. It’s contemporary and kind of fun! I can’t wait to quilt it. I’m also excited to use up a teeny, tiny bit of my fabric stash!

Buttons quilt 3 Buttons quilt

4 responses »

  1. Thanks, Kelly. I really like this fabric. I got it when I was only buying 1/4 or 1/2 yards of fabrics I liked. It took me a couple years to realize that this wasn’t enough to do much with.

  2. I am into red, white and black this year for some reason – I really like your quilt. Modern looking with the negative/positive going on. I have an unfinished quilt top just like this with dark teal and cream, Not sure how I am going to quilt it. Do you have a plan for the quilting?

  3. Carol, I have been thinking about the quilting. I think I’m going to use an all-over design and am trying to figure out whether I’ll use black, white or red thread. I have a few blocks left over so will probably do a test for thread color. This would be perfect for monofilament (invisible) thread but I don’t love working with it. However that may end up being my best option. I’ll keep you posted!

    PS: I agree with you about this color scheme. There’s something very cool about it.

Leave a Reply

