Inspiration from the Catwalk

Standard

Last month, I had the opportunity to visit the Jean Paul Gaultier: From Sidewalk to Catwalk exhibit at the Brooklyn Museum. I have to admit that I am in awe of designers because they work with such a wide range of fabrics (not to mention feathers and sequins), and because they have to fit their creations to a live model.

Jean Paul Gaultier was born in 1952 and received no formal fashion training. Over the last forty years, he’s designed for movies, models and musicians. Some of his creations were truly beautiful and some were rather vulgar. Clearly he has his own vision for his designs!

This exhibit continues at the Brooklyn Museum until February 23, 2014. It is really well set up, and many of the models are on a rotating stage. I apologize for the horrible quality of the photographs. The models were moving and they don’t allow flash photography, so I did the best I could with my iPhone. I wanted to share my trip and make my local readers aware of this exhibit. Thankfully I’m a much better quilter than I am photographer!

Guathier 2Guathier 6 Guathier 5RGuathier 4R

Leave a Reply

