A surprise in the mailbox

Standard

When I got the mail yesterday, I was surprised to see a large envelop addressed to my 16-year-old daughter. It was from my mom’s sister, who is my daughter’s great aunt. Aunt Mary follows my daughter’s sewing adventures online, so knows of her love for historical, women’s fashion.

The surprise was 100 or so pages of Harper’s Bazaar magazines, from 1899 to 1907! How cool! They had been torn out and saved by somebody, just the same way that I tear out pages from my favorite quilting magazines. The pages were a combination of mail order fashions and home making articles. Perhaps my quilt magazine tear-out pages will be an equal treasure for my great-great-great granddaughters in 2114!

DSC_3889 DSC_3892 DSC_3894

Leave a Reply

