Sunday Sewing Day Totally Sucked!

Standard

For the past several weeks, I have been taking a weekly wellness course at our local hospital. The basis of the course is that our lives need to be in balance. We were asked to set goals in the following areas of our lives: relationships, career/finance, health/fitness, spirituality and mental/emotional. Let’s just say that I’ve been focusing almost totally on my new career, with a bit of time carved out for exercise. I wasn’t the class model of a balanced life!

Yesterday, I came up with the idea of designating Sunday for recreation. (I believe I am the first person to declare Sunday as a day of rest!!!!!) So I admitted to a couple of friends that I was rededicating myself to quilting. After a wonderful morning walking in one of Long Island’s beautiful parks, I came home excited to sew.

Since you’ve already read the headline, it should come as no surprise that yesterday did not go well. I had decided to quilt a few Christmas stocking panels on my longarm. (You may recall that, over the summer, we moved my longarm from our living room into the basement.) First of all, the fabric I’d chosen wasn’t stored as neatly as it could have been — and it all needed ironing. Then I spent 90 minutes trying to keep the thread from breaking, because I couldn’t remember what kind of needle worked best, I couldn’t find my notes in the piles of yet-to-be-put-away papers that related to my longarm, and I seemed to have forgotten the precise needle placement tricks that I knew a year ago. By 4:00 PM, I was done with Sunday Sewing Day and ready to go back to work!

Instead, I forced myself to watch a 3 hour DVD called Andrew Lloyd Webber: The Royal Albert Hall Celebration. I opened some mail and did a little bit of housework.

So this morning my back is sore from a combination of  a long walk and too much time bent over the longarm machine. But I definitely feel refreshed and excited to get back to work. Even though my step toward quilting wasn’t very productive, it was a step in the right direction.

 

4 responses »

  1. Sue – I could never make Sunday a day of quilting – My day starts with Bacon and Egg on a NY Roll for breakfast (that I cook) then 2-3 hours reading the Times, then cleaning up. Then starting Sunday’s “big meal” ( a tradition from my childhood and my kids childhood that I can’t seem to break) and then, for us, we watch the NASCAR race. No time for quilting. But I do try and set aside days during the week when I don’t have anywhere to go and I put on sweats and don’t do my hair and just spend hours in my sewing room – sometimes not sewing – just doing that touching fabric thing. It does rejuvenate me. I just spent the last 6 months not sewing due to the serious tragic illness and passing of my son in law. BUT, since I have returned home I have been doing more and more sewing. and not really caring about perfect. I am returning to frame quilting and it is not going perfect. It never did and I was ready to throw in the towel. I have decided that if “Fred” (I named my frame set up Fred) and I are still not getting along in 6 months and it is not making me happy – out it goes. I am not going to look at something everyday that causes me frustration. It was a freeing moment when I decided that 1. I am not married to Fred – I can sell it if it causes me aggravation and 2. Done is really better than perfect (I heard the saying many times but now I understand and accept the saying).
    I know it’s a long comment to your post but I wanted to share with you.

    • Thanks so much for sharing, Carol. I’m really sorry about the loss of your son-in-law. I’m thinking that “Sewing Sunday” will not work for everybody, but I love the idea that people make it a regular part of their week. I know many people (myself included) who have not quilted for quite a while due to illness or life getting in the way … hopefully you won’t give up on Fred! Give yourself a chance to heal from your loss and I’m guessing you and Fred will have many happy years together! Thanks for such a wonderful comment.

  2. Oh, but you had good intentions! And, you will get to the point where you will be able to use the LA machine again! You’re just out of practice, but you’ve taken a step in a positive direction.

Leave a Reply

