What a difference a year makes!

Standard

As I write this, Quilt Market (the industry’s semi-annual trade show) has just completed and International Quilt Market is ready to start.

This marks my one-year anniversary of attending Quilt Market. My readers may recall that my trip was cut short by Hurricane Sandy. I had a harrowing trip home, which included renting a car and driving from the Baltimore airport to Long Island, all the time trying to stay ahead of the storm. Sadly, some residents of Long Island have not yet recovered from this storm, although everyone I know personally is now fine.

One of the highlights of the show was seeing Libby Lehman checking in at the judge’s table. She has always been one of my favorite teachers, due to both her skills and her sense of humor. I felt like I’d seen a rock star! This Spring, Libby suffered a brain aneurysm and has had a difficult and rocky few months. Her quilts were part of a special exhibit at this year’s show.

I had attended Quilt Market with the intention of building my longarm business. Six weeks later, I recognized that this was impossible, due to a neck injury, and closed down my business. My readers know that this was a tough, heart-wrenching decision. Almost a year later, I’m doing well with my new venture, a ghostwriting business, called Blog Buddy.

On a personal note, my family has changed too.  I’ve ended my homeschooling journey. My 16-year-old earned her GED in June and is taking classes at our local community college. My son is in his second year at a state university about 300 miles away.  I have also been taking better care of my own health, which has resulted in a weight loss of 120 pounds and feeling a whole lot better physically.

Yup. It’s been quite a year.

Leave a Reply

