(Please) Stay Strong!

Standard

I write blogs for a living and always tell people to stay on topic. You do not want to be reading about crafts and have the writer start ranting about politics or religion. On the same note, if you follow a political blog, your readers are not going to appreciate if you change focus and start talking about your real estate business.

Well, friends, I am breaking my own advice to talk about strength training. I’ve recently lost a good chunk of weight and was excited for my doctor to tell me I was the best patient ever. Nope. He told me that I now needed to work on strength training and increasing my muscle mass. Since the bulk of my exercise involves changing the bobbin on my Janome, I should not have been surprised, but I knew it was time for some research. I’ve spent the last week learning how important strength training is to healthy aging. Some of the things I’ve learned are:

  • Most people will lose 50 percent of their muscle strength by age 65. That means that it’s difficult to carry groceries or get up and down onto the floor to play with your grand kids.
  • People who strength train age at 1/2% a year. People who don’t age at 2% per year.
  • The #1 reason that people go nto assisted living is lack of leg strength.

It’s never too early — or too late — to take care of building our muscles. We women are given lots of information about protecting our bones from osteoporosis, regular mammograms to prevent breast cancer, and the need to watch our diets to protect our heart. This is the first time I’ve ever been told to protect my muscles. This process requires only a small investment of time (20 minutes, 2 or 3 times a week) and can be done at home. Most quilters I know are vibrant, exciting women, and I’d hate to see my friends slowed down by lack of physical strength.

There are lots of books available on strength training. Here are two:

Weights for 50+

Build Muscle Without Weights

Leave a Reply

