My Secret Thread Hoarding Life

Standard

It was a busy weekend. We finally decided to move my longarm machine out of our living room and into the basement. This was a major job, in that we had to remove a basement window because the longarm was too large to go down our basement  stairs. My husband and son spent Saturday disassembling it, threading the pieces through our basement window, and putting it back together. Although I haven’t tried it yet, my longarm seems to have survived the adventure and my husband claims there were no pieces left over!

The next step in reclaiming our living room was to move the bureaus full of longarm crap supplies into the basement. My job was to empty the bureau drawers into bins, so my boys could carry them to the basement. This was the point I had to face my thread hoard collection. My addiction struggle began when I couldn’t get the tension on my longarm to work properly. (As most of my readers know, I was in a car accident 6 weeks after my longarm arrived in 2010  and herniated several disks in my neck. As a result, longarming was painful and I didn’t have the physical stamina to try and perfect the tension.)  I attended several conventions and would talk to other longarmers who would recommend a specific kind of thread. Since thread was usually available wholesale at these conventions, over the months I collected several brands of Superior thread, Glide, Aurifil and Signature. Because I was so sure that each brand would work, I stupidly ended up buying them in many colors. I also went through a variegated thread phase and probably have 20 large spools of various colors. And let’s not forget the florescent threads that I decided would be very cool. Add them all together and I easily have 100 longarm-size spools of thread.

I spent yesterday organizing the thread by manufacturer and style. One of my ridiculously ambitious many goals over the next few months is to experiment with different brands of thread — and get them all to work on my longarm.

Quite honestly, I was shocked at the amount of thread I’d accumulated. And this does not include the dozens of small spools that I bought for my Janome when I was art quilting, which is probably worthy of another post.

The good part is that I probably won’t need to buy thread for the rest of my life. Unlike fabric, thread doesn’t change too much over the years and I don’t think I’ve bought a new spool in over a year. So maybe I’m cured?

Leave a Reply

