Quilts from a recent show

Standard

I am pleased to actually share some quilts with you, rather than my usual rambling and excuses about why I haven’t been quilting. These are the only two quilts that I’ve finished since January. They were completed for the Eastern Long Island Quilt Guild show in Riverhead, NY, which was held at the beginning of this month.

Remembrance II is the second in a series of black and white quilts that feature crosses. At this point, I’m not sure if I will continue the series or not. I do love working in black and white and have lots of scraps.  However it would have looked a lot better if I’d made the cross from a single piece of fabric, rather than piecing together white pieces. Oh well. Live and learn!

Taxi! was from a member challenge that asked us to make quilts using only two colors. I did not kill myself quilting this piece. I was trying to make the quilting quick and funky and fun. I also decided not to do the extra work of stitching around the fused pieces, despite the fact it would have looked a lot better if I did. After all, it was just for display. When I picked up my quilts, I was surprised to learn that the member challenge quilts had been judged. Of course the judge’s main criticism was that my fused pieces were not stitched down. At least, for once, I agreed with the judge!

As always, it is fun to see my quilts hanging in a show. I try to enjoy the experience and not compare myself to people who have been quilting longer than 4 years!

Remembrance II Quilt

Taxi!

xxx

xx

Leave a Reply

