I think I’m a quilter again!

Standard

Those of you who follow my blog regularly know that the last few weeks have been difficult.  I decided to shut down my longarm business, had some major surgery, and have been struggling to get my accounting and taxes done. I have not done any quilting in almost 2 months, which is unbelievable for someone who barely went two days without some kind of quilt project.

Well I am happy to report that my dry spell has ended. On Friday, I went to our local quilt shop and collected my block-of-the-month patterns for the last few months, which were all missed due to medical appointments. This weekend, I moved my accounting materials off my sewing desk and (because I still can’t lift anything over 10 pounds) had my husband return my sewing machine to its rightful spot. I have two quilts to submit to Quiltcon in Austin, so went to work making storage bags and doing my labels.

I am sorry that I had to cancel my trip to Quiltcon. I feel like I am still recovering from surgery, and was worrying about how I’d manage to travel half-way across the country and haul around 50 pounds bags of luggage — when I was not yet supposed to be lifting more than 10 pounds.  I will miss meeting up with modern quilters and participating in this exciting new event.

I’m still not done with my accounting and taxes, but I hope to be finished by next week. I have really, really missed quilting. It’s good to be back!

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

