I’ve spent the last week watching Christmas movies

Standard

I can’t believe it’s been a week since I started getting sick. I still have a death-rattle cough and somewhat drippy nose, but otherwise have recovered well enough to resume my life. I have been doing some longarming since I have deadlines to meet, but that’s about it.

I’ve spent most of the last week watching Christmas movies. I’ve always loved Christmas movies, much to the dismay of my family who thinks they are sappy and boring. I’ve probably seen 20 of these movies in the last week and have worked out a formula: One member of the cast hates Christmas, because they are either (1) a workaholic or (2) had a family member or spouse die on Christmas eve (usually in a tragic accident, but cancer works too). At the end of every movie, the main character grows to love Christmas, recognizes their soul mate has been in front of them the whole time, they kiss, and it snows. It doesn’t matter if the movie is set in Los Angeles or the North Pole … it has to snow at the end.

Wouldn’t it be great if life were that simple? We survive conflict or tragedy, only to meet the love of our lives and live happily ever after. Or we open our hearts, only to have life reward us with a perfect family and a future in a winter wonderland? One can only dream of this. Or, in my case, see it on the Hallmark Channel for the next month until Christmas day!

Leave a Reply

