Book Review — Blog Inc.: Blogging for Pawssion, Profit and to Create Community

Standard

If you’re reading this review, you’ve probably figured out that I’m a dedicated blogger. I blog 5 days a week, and it is the first thing I do when I start my day (even before breakfast and a cup of coffee). I blog because I am passionate about quilting, love to share information that  helps make people better quilters, and enjoy having a showcase for my own work. I read this book because, even after 350+ posts, I am committed to becoming a better blogger.

Blog Inc. is a great book for both the novice and experienced blogger. It contains a lot of nuts-and-bolts information, such as how to choose a name and how to choose a platform. The book also covers practical matters such as how to monetize your blog, increasing traffic, and how to make your blog into a business. This was all good information.

What I liked best about Blog Inc. is that it captures the spirit of blogging. You can tell that author Joy Deangdeelert Cho loves to blog. This same energy comes through in the book’s 17 interviews with a diverse range of successful bloggers. They are innovative, creative, and passionate about blogging. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the back story of these successful blogs. I also came up with a few ideas of how to better promote my blog.

Although the profiled blogs are incredibly successful, the author does not give the impression that blogs are a get-rich-quick endeavor. I wasn’t surprised to see that many of the bloggers spend more than 40 hours a week working on their blogs.

I would recommend this book to both novice and seasoned bloggers. It contains some great information and the profiles were very inspirational.

Blog Inc. is for sale on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

