Confessions about Quilt Labeling

Standard

I consider labeling quilts to be in the same category as eating enough leafy greens and remembering to take my Vitamin D supplements — it’s a great habit but not one that is critical. Quilts don’t work well if you don’t secure your threads or add a binding. They do, however, work absolutely fine without a label.

I always label my quilts for shows (as this is required) and usually for gifts (if I have enough time). Otherwise, I don’t label anything. I know that is not a good habit and that future quilt anthropologists will struggle to identify my work. But I make a lot of quilts and, quite honestly, the majority of them are pretty unoriginal.

When I make labels, I “design” them in Microsoft Word. I make sure that the label includes my name, address and phone number, as well as the title of the quilt and the date it was completed. I will also include other relevant information, for example the fabric name and designer (if the fabric is obvious in the quilt) or the name of a poem on which the quilt is based. I print the label using June Taylor Quick-Fuse Iron On Fabric sheets. I cut out the label with my rotary cutter and fuse it to the back of the quilt.

Since I waste most of these 8.5 x 11″ sheets, a great idea would be to pre-make labels with my name, address and the current year. That way the label would be ready to iron on when I complete the quilt. The label wouldn’t contain a title, but it would be better than nothing. June Taylor’s iron on fabric sheets are widely available:

http://www.amazon.com/June-Tailor-Iron-On-Inkjet-10-Pack/dp/B001689RJK/ref=pd_sim_sbs_ac_1

You can learn more about quilt labeling at:

http://quiltbug.com/articles/label.htm

This interesting blog post gives examples of seven quilt labels:

http://blog.shopmartingale.com/dev8/

2 responses »

  1. Lately, I’ve been using my embroidery machine to sew out my name and the year and sew it to the back of the quilt. That’s better than nothing!

    • I have seen some beautiful labels done with embroidery machines. I’m actually trying to convince myself I need an embroidery machine — and the only think I think I would use it for was labels!

Leave a Reply

