My First Civil War Fabrics

Standard

Last week, I was asked to make a block using civil war fabrics. No big deal, except that my huge stash of fabric did not contain a single fat quarter of reproduction fabrics. I wasn’t even sure where the civil war fabrics were displayed in my local quilt shop! My friend Sharon, a civil war fabric lover, helped me pick the fabrics for this block.

Civil War Fabrics

I must admit that I prefer modern colors and designs to the sedate colors and small patterns that characterize civil war fabrics. However I do think that this fabric combination is quite attractive.

Directions for this Friendship Star quilt block can be found at:

http://quilting.about.com/od/blockofthemonth/ss/friend_star.htm

You can learn more about civil war reproduction fabrics at:

http://www.reproductionfabrics.com/htm-popups/civil_war_text.html

Leave a Reply

