Three Ways to Tell I’m a Quilter

Standard

I am back from the Ricky Tims Super Seminar in Rochester. Woo-hoo! It was the largest seminar they’ve ever had — with 740 women (140 from Canada).  I’ll share more about the seminar tomorrow. (Spoiler alert – it was awesome.)

My daughter and I left Rochester at 7:00 AM and got home at 6:00 PM. I didn’t do anything last night except make a sandwich, watch TV, and go to bed early. Even though I’ve haven’t blogged for more than a week, I want to assure everyone that I’m still a real quilter. Here’s how you can tell:

1. My shoes. Here’s a picture of the shoes my daughter (age 15) wore to the Ricky Tims seminar. It was a dead giveaway that she was NOT a quilter. REAL quilters wear practical shoes (generally running shoes) and base their wardrobes on comfort, not fashion.

My daughter’s footwear at the Ricky Tims seminar

2. Short-term memory problems. Despite a recent post swearing that I was going to use my stash and not purchase more fabric, once I was in the upstate NY quilt stores I was unable to recall the reasons for this vow. Oh yeah … and I bought patterns too.

3. Inability to travel “light.” I’m not sure who “travels light” but I know it isn’t me. Between my daughter and I, we had 3 sewing machines and enough fabric to sew quilts for a small country. Last night, we transferred our luggage from the minivan to the front hall, where it is sitting patiently waiting to be put away.

 

Some of our luggage.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

