Allergies

Standard

I try to keep this blog solely quilt-related, but I’m making an exception today. Although I will say that my allergies have impacted my quilting, since it’s hard to bind a quilt with watery eyes and a runny nose!

I moved to Long Island, NY five years ago after 17 years in Phoenix, AZ. While there are many things I love about Long Island, seasonal allergies are not one of them. The standard greeting on Long Island is: “Boy my allergies are terrible this year! How are you?”

About 2.5 years ago I started taking Zyrtec and it worked wonderfully for my allergies. A year later, I went for my regular dental appointment and had 8 cavities. This was shocking for a person that seldom had any dental work to be done, and of course they scolded me about my dental hygiene. Six months later — 7 cavities, and another lecture. After that I became Miss Dental Hygiene with an array of toothbrushes and mouthwashes. At my six month checkup I had 8 more cavities. If you don’t have a calculator handy, that’s 23 fillings in 18 months.

My dentist was baffled. He said they only saw cavities like that in people who went to bed sucking on hard candies. He kept stressing that I improve my dental hygiene — and I kept saying that there was nothing else I could do.

Shortly after, my friend found an article on Zyrtec and dental cavities. Yup. It was the Zyrtec. It especially causes cavities in middle-aged women who are taking additional medication (ie: quilters!). Both my allergist and my dentist were unaware of this side effect.

I pass this along with the hope it will save my blogger friends from the same fate I’ve had. Six months after I stopped Zyrtec, Xrays revealed no more cavities.

PS: I have switched to Allegra. It is not nearly as effective as Zyrtec.

You can read more about Zyrtec and cavities at this link:

http://www.ehealthme.com/ds/zyrtec/dental+caries

2 responses »

  1. That absolutely stinks! I had no idea. That’s a tremendous amount of fillings in such a short time, so sorry you had to go through that. And, now to have to put up with the allergies! I know they are no fun!

Leave a Reply

