Quilt Guilt

Standard

Seldom do bloggers talk about the dark side of quilting. Well, today I’m going to bring it out into the open. Quilting isn’t all beautiful fabrics, fabulous threads, and lovingly-planned designs. Nope. Quilters also have to deal with quilt guilt. Here’s a few examples. See if you recognize yourself!

1. I-Know-I-Promised-You-A-Quilt Guilt. This is probably the most common. You promised your child a baby quilt and she’s now starting middle school. You promised your sister a wedding quilt and she’s about to celebrate her 25th anniversary. You promised your guild that you’d make several charity quilts and you haven’t finished even one. This kind of quilt guilt makes you feel bad every time you work on a quilt that doesn’t fulfill your promises.

2. I-Should-Be-Quilting Guilt. This has been my problem over the last week. I have several projects I need to address, but I’ve been sick. I’ve been sitting in front of the TV — without binding quilts — and have felt like I’m doing something wrong.

3. I-Should-NOT-Be-Quilting Guilt. This is my usual state of being. The house needs cleaned. Bills need to be paid. My family feels like there should actually be food in our house. And all I want to do is finish a quilt.

4. Fabric-Stash Guilt. The sewing room is overflowing with fabric. I need to use up what I have before I buy any more. But I can’t resist the new collection, which, I’m sure, will blend beautifully with fabric I already own.

5. Money-Spent-On-Quilting Guilt. Quilting is an expensive hobby. There are always new tools, patterns and fabrics to tempt us. Somehow that’s more enticing that saving for retirement.

6. Quilt-Magazine-Hoarding Guilt. Apparently there is some unspoken rule among quilters that we cannot throw out any old quilting magazines. However, it is okay to take them to a guild meeting, where they become part of another quilter’s hoard.

7. Internet-Reading Guilt. If you’re reading this, you’ve probably felt somewhat guilt for the time you spend reading about other people’s quilt projects, when you could be working on your own.

8. I-Should-Be-More-Active-in-my-Guild Guilt. Like most organizations, there are a very few people in every guild doing all the work. You love the meetings, but feel guilty that you’re not doing your share. This is why I’ll be on my guild’s board for the next two years, and have taken a chairperson position for our next quilt show.

I’m sure there are many other types of quilt guilt. I wonder what kind I’ll feel today!

 

6 responses »

  1. You are in good hands my friend. On a regular basis I can say I have experienced numbers 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 8. I learned from what a friend went through with number 1, never to promise a quilt to anyone until I have it finished it. Here’s another one, Creative Slump Guilt. You start a new project with the best of intentions, then you lose your spark, can’t get motivated to complete it and all of a sudden the UFO pile has a new member. Enjoy your day and may it be quilt guilt free :-).

  2. What a sisterhood we can form!! I have experienced every one of those examples at one time or another. I experience numbers 1,2 and 7 nearly on a daily basis! (number 7 right now!!) I always knew I wasn’t alone in this…it’s nice to see it on “paper”! I agree with Vicki above….this is how the UFO pile grows!

  3. I just went through the Catch 22 Quilt Guilt. Several weeks ago my messy sewing room was calling to me to clean things up, it was getting bad. So I spent a day putting things away and now I can see the top of the cutting table and my sewing machine side cabinet is usable. Today I decided to go back to an old project, but wait… Where did I put that fabric? Oh no!!! Yes it was part of the clean up, but do I remember where I put it, NO!!! So I have spent the last hour looking through boxes and shelves trying to find the missing fabric. FInally found it, but not before feeling guilty for not remembering where I put things. And so goes a quilters’ life.

Leave a Reply

