Hancocks of Paducah Catalog

Standard

When I was a kid, I remember my father getting a catalog of fishing supplies. He would study this catalog throughout the winter months, wishing and planning for the tackle “needed”  for the following summer. Forty years later I can still remember this store name and the catalog’s place of prominence on our living room end table.

I’d planned yesterday to be Paperwork Day. The stacks of mail had overtaken our kitchen table and it was time to pay some bills. Unfortunately the first piece of mail I came across was Hancocks of Paducah’s summer catalog. This is 168 pages of eye candy … truthfully better than most quilt magazines. I immediately had to take an hour break and go through this catalog, page by page.

Like my father, I study this catalog. I save it. I re-examine pages. I drool over the beautiful quilt kits. I dream about what I could make. I place orders. I keep it in the family room beside my reading chair.

The catalog is incredibly well organized by color and theme. There are 2″ swatches of each fabric design. There are lots of kits and patterns, as well as great fabrics. Their selection of batiks is particularly amazing.

The catalog sells for $2.00, although it’s sent free to customers. I’d highly recommend getting a copy. You can see their fabric on the link below. Catalog requests are on the top right side of the screen.

www.hancocks-paducah.com

5 responses »

  1. That is one of my favorite catalogs as well. It always ends up with many folded down pages and sections missing as I try the different fabric chips in different patterns. Do you spend any time on their online site?

  2. I don’t spend a lot of time on their online site. It’s gorgeous, and I should. However I’m still of the era where paper is best. It’s so much easier to compare by dog-earing the pages. That exactly what I do! Having a paper catalog must be very successful or they wouldn’t continue with such an expense.

  3. Hi! I’ve been reading your weblog for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent job!

  4. I recently ordered and received some oriental panels and hoped a catalogue would be included but it was not. I need this to order fabrics to blend for my project. I need one as we live in a rather remote area and I depend upon catalogues.

Leave a Reply

