Quilting While You Sleep

Standard

CREDIT: murraythenut.com

My friend Vicki sent me this pie chart and I howled with laughter. While binge eating and internet surfing are regular parts of my day, I seldom indulge in a nap. Saturday, however, was an exception. By 1:00 PM I’d driven my daughter 100 miles (round trip) to a photography field trip, taken over 200 photos of my own, done my grocery shopping at the warehouse club, and spent 90 minutes at physical therapy. I got home and planned to spend the rest of the day quilting.

I’ve been working on a quilt challenge that’s been very difficult. (I will show you pictures after it’s submitted.) I pieced the quilt top at a recent retreat and had several people comment that the quilt was ugly and boring. I had no idea how to quilt it. And, because I knew my work would be displayed with quilters who were far more experienced than I am, I felt a lot of pressure to be creative.  It seemed that all my ideas were too simple or too obvious.

(Earlier last week, my daughter and I  had come up with a decent design while she waited to see the dentist. I was fairly happy with the sketches. Unfortunately, somehow the drawings ended up on the floor — and the dog pooped on them! I took this as a sign that I needed a different quilting plan.)

After 2 weeks of ruminating over how to quilt this darn challenge piece, it was now Saturday afternoon. I was exhausted from the busy morning I described above. And I was frustrated because I still had no idea how to quilt it. Then it hit me — instead of quilting, I would nap!

As I woke up 2 hours later, I had a flash of insight about how to do my quilting. It seemed like a brilliant and innovative idea. I spent the weekend quilting, and am very happy with the results.

The moral of this story is that napping CAN be part of the creative process. I’m still working on finding the purpose of binge eating and internet surfing! I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

For more of these great cartoons, check out http://www.murraythenut.com

One response »

  1. Internet surfing is great for finding all kinds of ideas. I often will do a Google picture search for certain types of quilts or themes to see what other people have done, what colour combinations people have used to see what looks effective. So say yes to internet surfing!!!

Leave a Reply

