Quilting Inspiration is Everywhere

Standard

My kids always make fun of me because I see everything in terms of quilting. This “skill” is not limited to the visual world. I also give advice using quilting metaphors and examples.  I think this is part of the reason why my 17-year-old son completely ignores everything I say.

So my see-quilting-in-everything  worldview leads to today’s topic … where do we find inspiration for our quilts? The answer is — everywhere! Of course there are the usual answers like “in nature” or “by attending quilt shows.” However I find that, if I keep my eyes open, inspiration comes from the oddest places.

Yesterday I spent 2 hours in an exam room with my teenage daughter. Much of that time was spent waiting and there wasn’t a lot to do (big surprise there) so I was intently studying the room. The more I studied; the more excited I became. This room was the perfect color palette for a quilt. The walls were a robin’s egg blue. The trim was cream. It was very soothing. The floor tiles were even arranged in a staggered pattern that was very quilt-like.

To top it off, the privacy curtain had great accent colors. And of course I had to take pictures of everything. (Another quilting tip … keep a digital camera in your purse for recording inspiration!)

By the way, I didn’t mention to my son that I have now resorted to taking photographs of exam rooms.

(If you have trouble viewing these photos, please visit my blog at quiltnotes.wordpress.com)

Curtain for accent colors

My Exam Room Inspiration

Leave a Reply

