49 Days to MQX (Machine Quilter’s Exposition)

Standard

This will be my third year attending MQX and I have to say it is my favorite quilt show. (I haven’t been to Paducah or Houston, but I still bet this Rhode Island show would provide stiff competition!) In previous years, I have taken back-to-back classes. The first year, all of the classes were lectures geared toward my domestic machine. Last year, I took several hands-on longarm classes in addition to the lectures.

I cannot say enough good things about this show. The quilts are spectacular. Many of the vendors offer wholesale prices, so it’s a great time to stock up on supplies. The teachers are organized and clearly very talented  I’ve come away from each class feeling like I’ve increased my skills and learned a boat-load of practical techniques that I can apply to my quilting.

One of the best things about the show is being able to talk to other quilters. When I went last year, I was in the middle of serious tension problems with my longarm. I mentioned it to everyone who’d listen. I came home with some very practical suggestions that solved my problems.

http://www.mqxshow.com/MQX/East/Home/index.cfm

2 responses »

  1. Hi Sue, I just found your post. I’m going to MQX East this year and I’m trying to figure out what classes to take, both hands on and lectures. There are so many to choose from. I’m a total newbie so I need good beginner classes. Any recommendations and tips that you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

    • Hi Michelle,
      I took a few days to answer you, because I wanted to read through the catalog. There are a lot of great choices and all of the teachers (many of whom I’ve taken classes with) look excellent. I don’t think you’d regret any of your choices. What I did was to choose classes based on the problems (or challenges) that I was having at the time. In the beginning, I needed help with tension, with squaring quilts, and with learning simple designs. I took a variety of classes that included freestyle quilting, using rulers and templates, and marking quilts. I also took several business-related classes on how to deal with customers and grow a business. Everything was valuable (and a whole lot overwhelming). I hope that helps. Make sure you take time to enjoy the show, as the quilts are always amazing! Enjoy!!!!

Leave a Reply

