Spiderman Tshirt Quilt

Standard

Here is my completed Spiderman quilt. I used four Spiderman T-shirts from the Disney Store and a background that looked like a starry sky.

Here’s the lesson I learned … I saw these T-shirts and knew that I had a great spider web pantograph at home. The idea of Spiderman with spider webs was brilliant, I thought, and would lead to a spectacular quilt.

The first issue was color. Pantographs are an all-over design and you cannot change thread color. I wanted Spiderman’s eyes to remain white, so I had to use a white thread. Using the pantograph, even with white thread, was still going to leave stitching lines through his eyes, which I certainly didn’t want. Also, the white thread really didn’t blend with the project.

Secondly, I realized that the web design on the pantograph would “fight” with the web design  on the T-shirts. Clearly, my pantograph plan was not going to work. (I had to sulk about this for awhile.)

I decided to just free style quilt this and follow the lines in the T-shirt. It looks amazing. The quilting gives it depth but does not take away from the design. Clearly this was the right choice.

Back to the lesson … sometimes I have an idea in my mind that I feel I just “have” to use. (This usually happens with pantographs, because I have a large selection and want to get my money’s worth out of them.) Often, this idea becomes a stumbling block as I’m trying to rearrange the entire design to incorporate an element that really doesn’t work. Using a spider web pantograph on Spiderman is a great example.

I’ve learned the same lesson with fabric. Occasionally I’ll have a fabric that I REALLY want to use in a quilt. I assemble the rest of the fabrics and the original fabric  looks terrible. That’s because the original fabric was a great inspiration, but should really not end up in the quilt. However it takes a lot of internal strength to abandon the fabric that was the genesis of the quilt.

These issues are hard to deal with. I’m constantly struggling to get my ego out of the process and do what is best for the quilt.

(If the photos did not come out full-size, please visit my blog at quiltnotes.wordpress.com)

Spiderman Tshirt Quilt

 

One response »

  1. We stumbled over here different website
    and thought I should check things out. I like what I see so
    i am just following you. Look forward to checking out your
    web page repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

