Bookkeeping … A Path to Empowerment (Part 3)

Standard

I have been working on my book-keeping challenges for weeks now. Although part of me has resented the time I’ve spent sorting, organizing, posting and checking … a huge burden has been lifted. Everything is posted and I’m two-thirds of the way through checking my work. Yes, I still have bank accounts to reconcile and reports to run. But I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

This has been a huge weight off my shoulders. Avoiding necessary labors creates stress. And facing challenges takes courage. This may seem minor when we’re talking about accounting and not climbing Mt. Fuji or curing cancer, but I have learned a lot along the way and I am proud of myself.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading about running a business. Our local library has an entire section — including several books on running crafts businesses that contain some great info.  The “Crafts Business Answer Book” was excellent.

http://www.amazon.com/Crafts-Business-Answer-Book-Marketing/dp/1590771087/ref=pd_vtp_b_8

A quick search of amazon.com gives me at least a dozen books on selling your crafts. I couldn’t resist adding a couple to my cart! Most everything in these books is applicable to quilting.

I also encourage you to check out SCORE. I have attended their seminars with mixed success. They now have a lot of information online. Pick and choose what works for you.

www.score.org

I have also come across June Walker’s website and highly recommend it. I have been very impressed with her no-nonsense approach and answers to questions. To be honest, I found this website during an online search which gave her some crappy reviews. So, as with any resource, keep an open mind and make your own decisions.

http://junewalkeronline.com/

So that’s it with my bookkeeping adventures. Tomorrow, we’re back to our regularly scheduled programming. No mountain climbing or medical research at this blog, but I’ll be back on topic with quilting! Yippee!

One response »

  1. I need to do a better job of bookkeeping, too. At least this year I am making a serious attempt to keep track of all my expenses. Since most my selling is done on Etsy, it is easy to see what my income is there. I do need to keep track of things I sell on the side. How do you account for things you make and give as gifts? Is it an expense, as a form of advertising? Or do you give yourself some credit for making a gift rather than buying it? With 13 grandkids, it adds up!

Leave a Reply

