Machine Binding

Standard

As I mentioned yesterday, I am on a quest to reduce the time I spend finishing my quilts. This requires that I ditch the traditional binding method (sew binding to front; hand-stitch on back) to securing both the front and back of the binding with the machine.

Truthfully, I’m wondering why I didn’t think of this sooner. I guess because I was taught to hand-stitch, so I never considered giving this up. (Plus binding gives me something to do when I’m watching TV and want to feel semi-productive.) Now that I’m being open about my binding woes, several people have told me that they always do machine binding.

So here’s how you do an all-machine binding.

1. Cut your binding, as usual, and sew to the BACK of the quilt.

2. Flip the binding over. Experiment with how to best secure the binding — pins or clips. Some people seem to just use their fingers for pressure.

3. Sew down the binding using either a straight or decorative (such as blanket) stitch.

4. You will need to take a couple of whip stitches to secure the corners.

I haven’t tried this yet, but I will soon. If you’d like to try all-machine binding, here are two tutorials to help show you the way.

http://www.swimbikequilt.com/2011/10/machine-binding-tutorial.html

http://patsloan.typepad.com/quiltershome/pat-sloan-machine-binding-tutorial.html (Make sure you scroll to the bottom of the page for the youtube video)

Leave a Reply

