Little Twisters Christmas Tree #2

Standard

Here is my second Christmas Tree using the Little Twisters tool. As you can see, I used a black background to offset the metallics from the charm pack.

This was my second tree using the Little Twisters tool. (You can see my first tree on my November 28th post.) So I got a little smarter!

The first thing I did was pay attention to color. Rather than randomly spacing the 5 inch squares, I arranged them strategically from light (on top) to dark (on bottom). It gives a water color effect to the quilt that I really like.

My second change was to pay more attention to the borders. Once again, I hunted through my stash to find a fabric that would help showcase the tree. No luck. It is VERY hard to find a fabric that matches the 50 colors in the tree. Finally I settled on continuing the black background into the border and I think it’s very effective.

The last change I made was in the size of the quilt. In my first quilt, I added a 3 inch border and was happy. This time I aimed to achieve a more pleasing ratio of 3:4 (width to height) and made my bottom borders wider than my side borders.

As with my last tree, I really wanted to use some embellishments. I tried to use the strings of miniature lights I got at Joann Fabrics, but they got lost with the pattern of the tree. I also had some small red velvet bows, which surprisingly also looked terrible. I ended up leaving off any embellishments and I think that makes it a stronger piece.

Once again, I quilted the tree using feathers. I used a variegated Signature thread called “Shadow” on the black and quilted a freestyle swirl to represent snow. This quilt is absolutely stunning, if I do say so myself!

Beginning layout for Christmas tree quilt -- note the attention to color

Finished Christmas Tree

Leave a Reply

