Little Twisters Christmas Tree #1

Standard

Here’s my first completed project using the Little Twisters tool. I’m very pleased with the results. I quilted the tree using large feathers, and did small feathers in the stem and star. The white part surrounding the tree is freestyle quilting in a circular pattern to represent wind and snow.

I’m not sure if you can see from the photo, but the border was quilted using vertical lines (usually called piano keys). I’d love to say that this was a style choice, but the real reason was that I didn’t measure my borders and ended up with a lot of fullness that I had to contain. (See my post on November 23rd for info on properly applying borders.)

It was harder than I thought to pick an outer border. I tried almost a dozen fabrics that were in my stash and this green looked the best. Next time, I’ll put some thought into the border before I make the tree.

I’d also planned to heavily embellish this. I’d bought miniature strings of lights and tree decorations at Joann’s Fabric and was excited to decorate my tree. The decorations got lost on the busy fabric and I decided to let the fabric stand for itself. Although I love embellishments on an art quilt, it is very easy to overdo them.

You can see directions for this project in my Nov. 18th post.

Leave a Reply

