My (failed) attempt at applique

Standard

My quilt shop was offering a block of the month for the Pumpkin Hill quilt. This quilt is hand appliqued and I felt that it was a skill I would like to master. Well, I’ve changed my mind.

At our first meeting we received a wonderful packet of fabric, duly labeled as “cream” or “stars.” Unfortunately, the labeled fabric didn’t match up with the instructions, and many in the class were frustrated trying to decide which fabric to use.

Our second problem was that the leader didn’t have time to show us how to applique. I went home and watched tutorials on Youtube. I tried a practice piece but found needle turn extremely difficult. I also realized that hand appliqueing these blocks was going to take a lot of time.

I then decided to do the “freezer paper method” whereby you trace each component on freezer paper, then cut out the freezer paper and iron (shiny side down) to the back of the fabric. The project has been in this state for the last two weeks.

I’ve been joking that fusible web has been looking pretty good.

This weekend I made a decision — I am going to fuse this quilt and do machine applique. I do not have the time or desire to learn to applique by hand. Maybe I will sometime, but not now. Here’s a link to the finished quilt. It is really interesting and I’m sure that machine quilting won’t take away from the design.

http://www.bunnyhilldesigns.com/store/products/details/?product=bm1077

Fabric for Month One of Pumpkin Hill

Leave a Reply

