Crazy for (not) Quilting

Standard

Well, it’s payback time. After a lovely weekend shopping for fabric in Pennsylvania, and a five day vacation at the Vermont Quilt Festival … reality has returned. I haven’t touched my sewing machine all week. And I’m not happy. I don’t even have time today to upload some more pictures of VQF  to my blog. Much as I love sharing what I’ve learned, it’s not nearly as satisfying as sewing. (Sorry, friends.)

So here’s what’s been happening. I’m still suffering from a serious bout of asthma that started on May 20th. I’ve now completed three rounds of antibiotics and am in my 2nd round of prednisone. Thankfully, I think I’ve almost over it. But we’re talking six or seven weeks of feeling crappy . To top it off, I’m still going to physical therapy three times a week for a foot problem.

My kids finally finished school. I have a huge amount of home school paper work to do for my son, who just finished 10th grade. It will take me 20 or 30 hours to get that in order.

My daughter starts photography camp on Tuesday. It’s just mornings, but it’s a 45 minute drive away, so we have to leave by 7:30 AM. She’s having a friend stay with us for the next couple weeks so they can go together. So I thought it was about time we cleared the Christmas decorations and all the other debris out of the guestroom so Rachel has a place to sleep. (Usually the teens are glad to share a room, but we moms figured they were seeing enough of each other that separating them at night was a good idea.)

I have done no sewing on my pansy quilt for weeks. My studio is a mess. Ditto on the rest of the house. I’m trying to get it cleaned up, partly because we’re having company, but mostly because it’s driving me crazy … and it’s a lot worse for wear because (1) I’ve been too sick to clean and (2) I’ve been away most of the last two weeks.

The last week has been insanely busy. My son has activities every night. We’ve had a ton of doctor, vet, and other appointments — plus things like grocery shopping, haircuts,  and an afternoon spent at Firestone getting the car serviced and new tires — that have eaten up the rest of the day.

The result … no sewing. I did manage to page through a few magazines while I was waiting for my car and for my kids to finish their activities. Not incredibly satisfying, but not terrible either.

So that’s life here. I keep telling my family how long it’s been since I’ve turned on my machine. They don’t care. Maybe somebody out in cyberspace does :)

Leave a Reply

