Sources of fabric

Standard

I’m always looking for interesting fabrics that can be used in art quilts. Yesterday I found this scarf at Kohls. It was a less than $8.00 for this piece. The result was  close to a yard of fabric — 100% rayon, beautiful weave, with some ribbon embellishing.

Here’s part of a wool sweater that I made about 25 years ago. I’ve been moving it from place to place ever since. Everyone in my family has outgrown it, but I don’t want to give it away. I’ve decided to recycle it into an art project.

More images of the wool (this time, the inside). Now I understand why people frequent thrift stores looking for fabrics. I was in Target the other day and saw a few things that would have been perfect for art quilts. Anyway … time to broaden my horizons and keep an eye out for “fabrics” for my creations.

3 responses »

  1. I love hanging on to fabrics I find in clothing etc, but then don’t really know what to do with the lovely stuff. I”m anxious to see how you transform the above items; it may help me see what can be done. I’m not an art major or anything; I just like fibers and quilting. I tend to rely on other people’s creative genius and copy them :)

  2. Hi Shelley,

    I’m anxious to see what I come up with as well! This will be my first time working with non-traditional fabrics, except as embellishments. I’ll definitely post my efforts.

    Sue

  3. Great find at Kohls. Don’t forget to look at end of season clearance racks and tables at various stores. Sometimes you will be amazed at what is being sold for less than $10. Yes it may already be an article of clothing, but when it comes to art quilts, it’s not like you need 2 – 3 yards of continuous fabric. Some thrift shops actually get fabric coming in on regular basis and I’ve heard of some quilty people who make friends with the people who run the shops and get them to call when boxes of fabric turn up.

Leave a Reply

